Resigning from Duel of Magic

Out of Character message board for the Duel of Magic

Moderator: Staff

Royal
Expert Adventurer
Expert Adventurer

Resigning from Duel of Magic

Post by Royal »

I regret to inform the Duel of Magic community that I will be stepping down as Assistant Coordinator and Standings Keeper of the sport. I have been helping with staff activities on this site for over 8 years at this point, with my first foray into the world of Rings of Honor staff as just the Duel of Swords standings keeper; simply because I selfishly wanted the DoS standings to be posted up on time and not late so I could have rank benefits within a timely manner.

At the time, G had been running DoS for such a long - long time, so I could not fault him for being late on the standings as much as he had been, and I'm sure he was grateful to pass that tedious work onto me.. and boy, was it tedious. Having to do HTML code-work when I had no clue about it and just winging it was both terrifying but a fun experience.. and I'd like to say my time on staff has always been a fun experience, but it hasn't.

As time went on, my enthusiasm and joy for the duels and roleplaying has dwindled. I had faith that perhaps I can at least focus on bringing fun and enjoyment to others.. but, I don't think I can continue on anymore. For those of you who enjoyed all I've given to not only Duel of Magic, but Duel of Swords, Duel of Fists, and just normal non-dueling events like the Hunters Guild, thank you.. its the seeing all of you getting involved and having fun that has kept me around well past the point of my own burn out. I tried to hide much of it behind a smile, more events, and just attempting to bring more life into Duel of Magic (and by extension the Duel of Swords while I held the reins), but like I wrote above — I don't think I can go on.